calendar Friday, 23 July 2021 clock
  • qbook

LUANDA: The 13th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries (CPLP), which was held in Luanda, approved the accession of Qatar to the community as an ‘Associate Observer’.

Ambassador of Qatar to Portugal Saad bin Ali Al Mohannadi participated in the closing session of the Council of Foreign Ministers of the community in Luanda, which preceded the summit.

Qatar’s accession to the community reflects its global development role and is within the framework of the multilateral international cooperation strategy pursued by the state to cooperate for development and enhance cultural exchange with all countries and peoples.

Friendship and cooperation

At the end of 2018, Qatar submitted a request to join the CPLP as an ‘Associate Observer’ out of its keenness to strengthen its relations with the countries of the community and to deepen the bonds of friendship and cooperation in all fields.

CPLP was created on 17 July. 1996. It is an international organisation made up of nine countries – Angola, Brazil, Portugal, East Timor, Cape Verde, Sao Tome and Principe, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau and Mozambique, and 28 countries as associate observers.

The principles on which the community is based include equality among all member states, non-interference in internal affairs, respect for national identity, reciprocity, respect for territorial integrity, promotion of democratic practices, good governance and respect for human rights.

In addition to Qatar, the accession of Canada, the US, Ireland, Spain, India, Cote d’Ivoire, Peru, Greece and Romania was approved.

  • Qbook
  • qshow